5 Best Leaders in Sikkim Political History


Sikkim, an East Indian state is ruled Governor and a chief minister, with the chief minister being the main executive authority figure and Governor being the head of the state. The chief minister is appointed by the Governor, and his term lasts for five years. The government is formed by the party or the coalition, depending on their collective number of seats. As Sikkim Assembly Elections 2019 is getting closer to the time’s due, we take a step back to present you with some of the most famous politicians in Sikkim.

1. Kazi Lhendup Dorjee: 
Known by the name Kazi Saab, Kazi Lhendup Dorjee was the first chief minister in the history of Sikkim, and he occupied his position for 1555 days, from May 1975 to August 1979. He initiated the union of Sikkim with India and also formed Sikkim Council.

2. Nar Bahadur Bhandari:
Known for his modern views, Nar Bahadur Bhandari was the chief of Sikkim who occupied his position from October 1979 to May 1984. He stood up for free education and improved Sikkim health care system.

3. B. B. Gurung:
Known for the shortest term in the history of Sikkim, B. B. Gurung was the democrat and a chief minister for only 13 days in May 1984. His short-term was due to the decreased popularity, and overall lack of stability in Sikkim at that time, but his ideas lived on and were later implemented by the chief ministers such as Pawan Kumar Chamling.

4. Sanchaman Limboo:
Known for his act of Other Backward Classes, Sanchaman Limboo was yet another short-term chief minister of Sikkim who only served from June 1994 to December 1994. He is also known to be a fourth Indian to become chief minister of Sikkim.

5. Pawan Kumar Chamling:
Currently serving his five-term as a chief minister of Sikkim, Pawan Kumar Chamling is known for his successful policies, which made Sikkim the only Indian state with an organic food production. While is popularity changed over the years, he is still one of the most influential politicians in Sikkim.