Aam Aadmi Party History


Aam Aadmi Party, AAP dates its inception back in 26th November 2012 when Arvind Kejriwal and other political figures in India formed AAP and it is the current ruling party of the National Capital Territory of Delhi. AAP’s birth was as a result of a political difference between Anna Hazare and Arvind Kejriwal regarding the stand on the movement; India against Corruption. During the formation, AAP had 23 National Executive members and 320 National Council members with a projection of increased membership and public involvement.

aam Aadmi party History

Ideology and Organization – AAP

AAP was formed based on the ideology of justice and equality, which they advocated be included in the constitution. The party wanted to be the channel which the common citizens could be heard even without considering the political affiliations. The party was also to push for the accountability so that the Government could address their transactions with openness. The three major principles on which it was founded on were; Populism, Democratic socialism, and Anti-corruption. The party is led by the very able Arvind Kejriwal at the top of the helm and backed with other political strata and wings. AAP has a Youth wing that is tasked to deal with issues relating to youth, there are also women, labour and student wing.

The current National Executive is headed by Arvin who is the National Convener, Pankaj Kr Gupta, who is the National Secretary, Narain Dass Gupta, the National Treasurer and other members such as Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Dr. Kumar Vishwas, Ashutosh, Atishi Marlena, and Dinesh Vaghela among many others.  Out of 545 Lok Sabha members, AAP has 4 representatives, 3 out of 245 members sitting at the Rajya Sabha, 66 out of 70 Delhi legislative assembly representatives and 20 out of 117 members of Punjab Assembly. The party’s headquarters is based in 206, Rouse Avenue, Deen Dayal Upadhyay Marg, ITO, New Delhi India.