All You Need to Know About BJD Political Party of Odisha


Biju Janata Dal, BJD which is a regional party of Odisha State draws its name from the ex-Chief Minister who was also the architect behind the modern Odisha State; the late Shri Biju Patnaik. The legendary political figure, Biju who passed on 17th April 1997 which later led to the birth of BJD on 26th December 1997. The Party is founded on the spirit of secularism, liberalism, regionalism and political values which would relate to the people of Odisha State. BJD headquarters are in 6R/3 Unit 6 Forest Park, Bhubaneswar in Odisha. The party is currently running on four wings; Peasant’s wing, Women’s wing, Student wing and the Youth wing under the able leadership of Naveen Patnaik, who has been the Party’s President since 1996 when he took over the throne from his father, Bijaynanda.

Biju Janata Dal

Political Steps of BJD

Biju Janata Dal has had an electoral success since its inception, winning every single election; State Assembly and the Lok Sabha. The Party has been in Government since 2000, winning every state election of Odisha. The 2014 general election was historic to the BJD since they scooped 20 of 21 Lok Sabha seats and 117 of 147 of Odisha Legislative Assembly seats.

The 2019 Assembly Election

As the 2019 Assembly elections nearing, Biju Janata Dal Party is poised to face anti-incumbency competitions from the likes of Baijayant Panda. Panda fell apart with BJD early this year citing ethical and moral issues with the Party. Bharatiya Janata Party, BJP is as well warming up for the 2019 assembly elections, with Amit Shah, the President of BJP making frequent visits to the state. Shah promised to strengthen BJP in Odisha while targeting the grass root level leaders. He intends to make more visits in August also targeting the booth level workers on his plan to create a strong base ahead of next year’s elections.