Uttarakhand Lok Sabha Election Updates 2019


The elections for the constitution of the 17th Lok Sabha in India has been scheduled to take place in seven phases from 11th April to 19 May 2019. Uttarakhand, often called ‘Dev Bhumi’ meaning ‘Land of the Gods’ will vote on 11th April for all of its 5 constituencies. Though the BJP had won all these seats in the general elections of 2014, it is predicted to be a different story this time in Lok Sabha Elections 2019.

The 5 seats that represent Uttarakhand in the Lok Sabha are Garhwal, Tehri Garhwal, Hardwar, Almora, and Nainital-Udhamsingh Nagar. Although the BJP had been whitewashed in the 2009 elections losing in all the 5 seats, the party registered a thumping victory winning all. The victory was arguably because of the rising popularity of its senior leaders in the state.

Despite the fact that most of the pre-election polls show another big win for BJP in the state, there is a wave of doubts that surrounds the party’s standing in the upcoming polls. The party faces new challenges this year as two of the champion party leaders have expressed unwillingness to contest this time.

Bhagat Singh Koshyari, the current MP from the constituency of Nainital announced that he wants to make way for the younger generation and hence will not take part in the elections. Bhuvan Chandra Khanduri, the retired General from Indian Army withdrew his name from Garhwal seat giving his diminishing health as the reason. He was recently denied the post of Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Defence.

As a result, Ajay Bhatt will face the senior Congress leader Harish Rawat for the Nainital seat. Rawat has been MP 5 times in his career and is the former Chief Minister. The other stroke of ill-fate for BJP is that Manish Khanduri, a senior leader quit the party to join hands with the opposition, Congress and he will be fighting for Pauri Garhwal constituency. Tehri will be another challenging front for the ruling party as Mala Rajya Laxmi Shah faces state president of Congress, Pritam Singh. The reserved seat of Almora promises to be another close game as the BJP’s incumbent MP Ajay Tamta is pitted against Pradeep Tamta, the Rajya Sabha MP from Congress, between whom the battle is tied at 1-1. Get all the updates of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on YuppTV.